PROLOGUE The Icemen were created late 1982.  Founded by Guitarist and Songwriter Marco Abularach, he was joined by Bassist Noah Evans.  Born and raised in New York City's Greenwich Village where they shared a recording/rehearsal studio Marco and Noah met Drummer Mackie Jayson (Bad Brains, Cro-Mags) early on while attending the High School of Music & Art. HISTORY The Icemen played their first show at CBGB's 11th of April 1983. For that one show they had Miles Kelly on vocals. Next The Icemen turned to John Gamble on vocals.  In 1984 they recorded a pair of songs "The Iceman" & "You Let It Go To Your Head" and at the time had planned to release it as a 7" although that never happened.  These tracks ended up being used primarily to get gigs.  With this lineup (Marco, Noah, Mackie, John) The Icemen played shows through '84 and '85 in NYC mostly at CBGB's and Pyramid Club.  Sometime not long after that Gamble was released from the band. What followed was a long period with the band unable to find a vocalist they would accept.  It was 1987 when they finally settled for Carl Demola (aka Carl Griffin) and this would be the lineup best known to most. The Icemen would perform live shows through the next five years, often at CBGB's, their "Home Base". In 1991 The Icemen released "R.I.P." on Blackout! Records [BL-11].  This 4 song EP contained the following tracks: Rest in Peace, Shadow Out of Time, The Harsh Truth, No Guts No Glory.  It was released on both CD and Cassette, in addition Rest in Peace & The Harsh Truth were released on 7" including a limited edition in blue or red vinyl. All of The Icemen's Music & Lyrics were written by Marco who in addition created all band related Artwork (Album Cover, Posters/Flyers, T-Shirts). R.I.P. was The Icemen's only official release, no other material written by creator Marco and performed by original members Marco, Noah, Mackie has ever been released. EPILOGUE While the band continued to perform through 1992, frustration at lack of musical growth continued to mount and it would not be much longer before The Icemen would release Carl from their band.  While they would search for a new vocalist for a period of time, this was essentially the end of the official Icemen. In 1997 Marco formed Shadow.  The band included Noah on Bass along with drummer Lez Warner (The Cult 1985-1988) and Paul Snook on Vocals. The band would write and record through the next few years eventually fading to an end in 2001. REPRISE 2008 - From out of the shadows of long silent years The Icemen have returned.  Having painstakingly transferred all of their many original tape recordings from analog to digital they rise from the grave with two formerly unreleased tracks. Reaper Records release on 7" colored vinyl [RR-21] featuring: The Iceman - the first ever recording by The Icemen (1984 @ Nola Studios New York) It'll Be Your Grave - another of their earliest recordings, one of several sessions they would record at Nola Studios from 1984-1986.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *